The Process is Fearless

I read an article about Chicago Cubs Manager Joe Madden shortly after the Cubs won the World Series last fall.  The headline really grabbed me – Madden’s Prophetic Speech Guides Cubs to Post Season.  I have copied it here for your convenience.  

http://www.espn.com/mlb/story/_/id/17558425

With a headline like that I had to check it out.  What could Madden have possibly said and will it work for the Fever, I asked myself.
I enjoy reading about leadership and have come to really appreciate Joe Madden especially now that he has moved out of the American League East and the Orioles don’t have to deal with him…yet – maybe next years Workd Series.  The speech that Madden delivered to the Cubs at Spring Training has a ton of nuggets in it that any fan of the game will enjoy.  I of course really enjoyed the elements that dealt with the mental game.  

One of the concepts that was featured in Madden’s talk was that the Process is Fearless.  Process over Outcomes was the focus of our discussion last Sunday.  Take a few minutes and read the article about the Cubs and let me know what you think.  Is the Process Fearless?  Did the Cubs focus on Process Over Outcomes help the Cubs win the World Series?   What else in Madden’s circle graphic grabbed your attention?  A focus on Process over Outcomes paid of for the Cubs… will it work for Fever?

Leave a Reply